NASHVILLE,  December 3, 2018 – State Senator Ken Yager (R-Kingston) was elected today by his colleagues to serve as Chairman of the Tennessee Senate Republican Caucus.  The election took place as the Caucus met in an organizational meeting in Nashville to prepare for the 111th General Assembly.

Yager was elected on the first ballot in a three-person race for the key leadership post.

Senator Yager was first elected to the General Assembly in 2008.  He currently serves as Chairman of the Senate State and Local Government Committee and the legislature’s Joint Fiscal Review Committee.

“I am humbled to earn the faith of my fellow Caucus members and to serve in this leadership role as Republican Caucus Chairman,” said Sen. Yager.  “It is an honor to work alongside them to stand up for taxpayers, support hard-working families, encourage job growth and improve educational opportunities for all Tennesseans.”

Republicans hold a 27-5 supermajority in the Senate, with one vacancy set for election in March.

In other key positions elected by the Caucus, Lt. Governor Randy McNally was re-elected as the Caucus nominee for Senate Speaker/ Lt. Governor and Senator Jack Johnson (R-Franklin) was elected Senate Majority Leader.

The legislative session is set to convene on January 8.


Contact:  Darlene Schlicher (615) 741-6336 or email:

(KINGSTON, Tenn.), October 15, 2018 – The 25th annual Chili Supper and Silent Auction sponsored by Senator Ken Yager (R-Kingston) is set for November 16 at Roane State Community College in the Student Lounge from 4:30 p.m. to 7:30 EST. Proceeds from the event will go to local non-profits serving intellectually and developmentally disabled citizens.


Country music star Jimmy Fortune, who sang with the legendary Statler Brothers for 21 years before becoming a solo artist, will perform at the event.


“Our annual chili supper started in 1994 in a local high school cafeteria while I was Roane County Executive,” said Sen. Yager.  “After my election to the Senate in 2008, we included the counties of the 12th District and the event moved to Roane State Community College to accommodate the larger crowds.  It is a family and community oriented event.  All the proceeds from the event are donated to a designated local nonprofit   This year we are supporting area agencies that serve the intellectually and developmentally disabled.  These agencies provide critical support to some of our most fragile citizens and deserve our support.”

“Over the years we have been blessed to have Tennessee’s top leaders drop by and this year should be no exception,” Yager added.  “Celebrity servers will include both local and state officials.”

The Silent Auction is expected to be the largest ever and will occur simultaneously with the Chili Supper.

“The Chili Supper and Silent Auction has always been an evening of good food, laughter, and fun. I appreciate the many friends who have come to the Chili Supper over the years and hope we have many new citizens join us on November 16.  As always, the same rules will apply: serve good chili and make no speeches,” he concluded.


Recipient Agencies:  25th Annual Chili Supper Sponsored by Senator Ken Yager / Senate District 12

Below please find a list of recipient non-profits serving intellectually and developmentally disabled citizens that will receive proceeds from the event:

Community Health of East TN Developmental Center, Jacksboro

Emory Valley Center, Oak Ridge

Michael Dunn Center, Kingston

Rhea of Sunshine, Dayton

Rhea County TSEA Visits Nashville and Senator Yager

Roane County 4-H students from Oliver Springs High School visit Nashville. Listed Left to Right: Hailey McKinney, Senator Yager, Julia Steele, Lauren Bass.

Tommy Francis from Morgan County, TN visits with Senator Yager.