Sen. Yager announces Highway Safety Grants for Roane County

NASHVILLE — State Senator Ken Yager (R-­Kingston­­­), said today he has been informed that four Hi­­­ghway Safety Grants have been awarded to promote public safety on Roane County roads and to curb drunk driving.  Senator Yager made the announcement after being informed by the Department of Safety and Homeland Security. 

The Roane County awards include:

  • $5,000 for the Harriman Police Department High Visibility Enforcement
  • $15,000 for the Oliver Springs Police Department Police Traffic Services (Multiple Violations)
  • $30,000 for the Roane County Sheriff’s Office Police Traffic Services (Multiple Violations)
  • $5, 000 for the Rockwood Police Department High Visibility Enforcement

“These grants will give our local communities additional funds that should help upgrade their efforts to make our roads safer and to protect our citizens from those who drink and drive,” Sen. Yager added.  “I will continue to work to make our roads safer in the next General Assembly.” 

The grant awards will be disbursed by the Tennessee Highway Safety Office (THSO).  The grants are provided to agencies that successfully applied for funding who meet the required data-driven criteria and highway safety standard.  Grant applications must be in line with THSO’s mission to reduce traffic crashes, injuries, and fatalities.