Senator Yager Named Legislator of the Year by the Tennessee Development District Association

NASHVILLE, Tenn., (March 7, 2017) – State Senator Ken Yager (R-Kingston) has received the “Legislator of the Year” Award for from the Tennessee Development District Association’s (TDDA) Southeast Development District for a second time. Yager received the award at the TDDA Reception in Nashville on Tuesday.

The awards are given to those legislators who have shown leadership and put forth considerable effort on behalf of their cities and counties.  

“I am honored to be selected the Southeast Development Districts Legislator of the Year,” said Senator Yager.  “Development Districts have a critical role in grant applications for local governments, planning and economic development.  I support the development district efforts to expand the economy and create jobs. “

Development districts assist with regional issues including planning and economic development coordination, transportation, solid waste, loans and grants for critical infrastructure such as water and sewer systems, housing, tourism, economic development loans, environmental quality and natural resources planning, workforce development and services to the elderly. 


Southeast TN Dev. District Executive Director Beth Jones, Senator Ken Yager, Executive Director and Meigs County Mayor Bill James